Love At Last… Sample Chapter

Love At Last

Chapter 14

Trey

Damn she looks good, Trey thought to himself when he saw Danielle walk out from behind the elevator doors. It was as if she had stepped out of Heaven and this was one shot of meeting an angel. That skirt she wore, hugged her slender curves tight, cupping a nice handful of a perfect behind. He cocoa brown skinned glowed from underneath the fluorescent lights and this time, she wore her hair down, framing her oval face. He could have kissed her right then. She looked much taller in her heels and those long legs of hers were something to die for. Pain still shown from the depths of her eyes but only a person who knew pain could see it. But her smile is what made his heart beat fast and pray that when he hugged her, she didn’t notice his hard-on.

He had a surprise for her. As corny as it was he it would be nice for them to take a trip to Disneyland. First date at the happiest place on earth, go figure. He wanted to show her a good time but also be at ease with her and he figured a theme park was the way to do it. The tickets were ridiculous but he had not done anything like this for a woman in long time so it was worth it. He took her hand and led her to his car which was parked out front. Her eyes widened with excitement when she saw his ride. “You have a nice car.” She said. He opened the door for her to get in. “Thanks ma’. What? You thought I drove a bucket?” she smirked. “No, well? I don’t know. At the end of the day it really doesn’t matter. You thought I didn’t have a car.” Tray barked out a laugh. “Ok you got me, but you did ride three trains ma’…I’m just saying.” “Whatever.” She laughed. “You look beautiful,” Trey told her. He had already given her a dozen compliments but it just didn’t seem like it was enough, especially since each time he did it he could tell that it made her blush. “Thank you Trey. And I must say you look very nice yourself.” She said. “Good enough to eat.” Well that did it. Trey needed to get them moving lest he ruined the date before it even began by making a move on her. “Don’t talk like that ma’,” he said. “You make a nigga wanna do things and this is only our first date.” She chuckled. “I’m sorry.” “Naw, don’t be,” Trey started the engine. And with that, they were on their way.

The drive from Downtown Los Angeles to Anaheim was a breeze, despite the traffic. Fortunately, the theme park was closing late which even though they didn’t make in the gate and into the park until almost four, Trey was happy as hell that he had decided to take her. She nearly jumped out the car with excitement when she realized where they were. “Oh my God Trey!” She said. “You brought me to Disneyland? I haven’t been here in ages.” Trey had tried to play it off like it was no big deal but inside…he couldn’t explain it. Once inside the park, they held hands and what Trey was assuming was out of pure joy she surprised him with a kiss on the lips. It wasn’t a quick peck either, she lingered just long enough for him to ease his tongue into her mouth. She pulled away embarrassed at being so forward but Trey just pulled her in again and kissed her the way that he had been wanting to from the moment he saw her. Her lips were soft and full and light to the touch. Trey didn’t kiss her with too much passion or force, but just enough to where he pulled her so close to him, he could feel her heart beating through her chest. It told him she was just as nervous and scared as he was but she wanted him. A few cheers were heard in the background, and one of the theme park’s photographers had snapped a few shots of them. The moment was magical. He pulled away from her and gently slid her from his embrace and realized that they had been locked in a kiss for more than a few minutes. She looked like she was in a daze and quite frankly he was too. He still had her by the waist and when she tried to gently pull away, Trey said, “Uh ma’? Could you give me a minute to get it together? You blew a nigga’s mind so that I can’t think straight.” She looked like she didn’t know what the it was for a second but then once she caught on she hugged him so more and kissed his cheek.

Her closeness didn’t make his situation better, but after some adjusting he managed to get himself at least halfway together so that they could enjoy the park. They rode as many rides as they could; Space Mountain, the Manahorn, and Indiana Jones (twice), she even convinced him to get on Rodger Rabbits Wild Ride just for the hell of it. Trey couldn’t remember the last time he had so much fun. After two hours however, they had to stop at a gift store to buy her a pair of sandals because she had forgotten hers in the car. He was almost outraged at having to pay $22.50 for a pair of paper thin sandals-not that he couldn’t afford to, but on principles. But the annoyance quickly dissipated when he saw how relieved she looked taking off her wedged shoes and slipping her feet into something much more comfortable. Damn, even her feet was pretty. Perfectly pedicured toes, painted with a turquoise blue… “Hey ma’ let me help you with that,” Trey said stooping low to take off her left shoe and slipping on her sandal. “Dang Trey, you make me feel like Cinderella.” She gushed. Trey smiled, which was something he had been doing the whole day. “I could be your prince any day if you let me…” Trey stood up and gathered her into another embrace. She leaned in and whispered into his ear something that damn near broke his heart. “I’m scared Trey…each second that I am with you I am falling for you and I shouldn’t. I don’t want to feel this way because, I think that once I truly fall, I am going to hit the ground hard.” He pulled away and stared into her eyes which had begun to water. “I don’t know if I deserve this Trey…I have been abused, and scarred and I am still hurting. I just want you to understand that I can’t go through another round of heartache again. So if this is a game or a ruse, be honest with me now.” She wiped her face. “Aww shit I have ruined everything huh?” Trey didn’t know how to respond or what to say. He knew there was pain lying just beneath her skin and all of it having to do with King. But what moved him the most was the fact that she felt she didn’t deserve to be happy. Trey was no sucker for a woman; he had been with many and most of them had attempted to run all types of game on him but to no avail. Yet, he could not deny the fact that she wasn’t the only one who was falling. Hell, if he could he would make her his girl right now, but he figured that they needed a little more time. She looked so vulnerable and even though she was pretty tall, in her fragile state she was small. He took her hands in his and kissed them. “I’m not playing a game with you Danielle. Even if I wanted to, I can’t. There is something about you that makes me want to be there for you as your friend and hopefully one day soon, as your man. I can’t change what King did to you and what he put you through but I can tell you that I won’t hurt you. I’d leave you before I do that. Just know that I got you and…”He leaned in and whispered,” I will catch you, so feel free to fall.” Her smile slowly crept into a full grin. “You know you this is the first time you said my name since we met?” she asked. He laughed. “I do call you ma’ a lot don’t I? Well, what do you prefer?” She looked at him sheepishly. That shy smile of hers a beacon for all the wrongs that went on in his life again reappeared. She didn’t say anything, but he knew the answer. “Ma’ it is then. So what ride you want to get on next?” “I’m hungry actually,” came her reply. “Good me too. Let’s go find us some ribs or something’”, Trey said taking her hand. “Ribs?” she laughed. “Hell yeah. I aint have none in a minute. Let’s go, I think there is a restaurant over by that Dumbo ride.” She laughed some more. “Ribs it is then.”

http://www.amazon.com/Love-Last-Delizhia-Denise-Jenkins/dp/1505376092/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1419997217&sr=8-1&keywords=love+at+last+by+delizhia+jenkins

Leave a Reply

