Another Excerpt From: The Family Curse

Chapter 5

I awoke to the gentle sound of an A.C., while draped in the soft cushiony warmth of blue and black comforter. I sat up to witness the low light of a fire crackling in a fireplace. Nino was dressed in a pair of black pajama pants and nothing else while sitting across from me on a leather love seat. He smiled sheepishly at me as the realization of what transpired hit me like a ton of bricks. There are no words to describe my humiliation. “You had me worried for a second,” he said as he got up to approach the bed. “This is sooo embarrassing.” I say as I bury my face in the pillow. “No, it’s not. That was…” “It was what?”  “Intense. I didn’t know that you could do that. I always knew my love making skills were top notch, but you took both us to new heights.” Whatchoo talkin’ bout Willis? “Huh?” I remove my face from the pillow to face him. “You basically dematerialized both of us and then rematerialized us as you climaxed. In all of my years I have never experienced anything like that. It was terrifyingly exhilarating. And in the process you were glowing so brightly I wasn’t sure if you were literally going to combust.” “But I passed out.” “Yes, but not before you did all that and then some…and I have always managed to control myself with you but sweetheart you caused me to drop fang do something that I said I would never do…” “You bit me,” I sat up, still covering myself with the blankets having realized that I am still naked. “But, it’s alright…I’m ok. Really.” I place my hand on the spot where he bit me and I could feel the puncture wounds. It felt awesome at the time when he did it, but now I can feel it. It was sore as hell and slightly swollen. “I am immune so don’t worry. I kind of forced you to.” He shook his head. “I don’t know what the consequences are for that…I mean I feel different, but in a good way. I feel stronger and reenergized. But I will not take from you like that again. You have my word.” “Nino, I am fine. I can cover it with a band aid and some make up. And besides, I wanted it just as much as you…” I kiss his cheek. “So, where am I?”  In your new home.” Nino smiled at me sheepishly. Did he just say what I think he just said? “Uh, what?”  “A man tells his woman that she is in her new house and you have nothing to say?” I don’t know if that was a statement of pure sarcasm or if he felt a little disappointed in my lack of response or a combination of both. I needed a second to take everything in. Before our cosmic love making session on the beach he told me that he was giving me a house; and before I became a walking glow stick in the restaurant he gave me his heart. I gently reach over and touch that smooth, cleanly shaven, olive skin of his and place my lips gently on his. There are no words to describe how much I love this man-how much I need him. He returns what I offer but with much more intensity and that fire that I always keep on a slow burn ignites once again into a raging flame. He yanks the covers off of me exposing my naked, brown skin and I desperately want him to cover me with his. His body is built like a tightly coiled spring: lean and full of power.  Our bodies intertwine and he nuzzles the other side of my neck indicating that he wants more…he wants in…But then he kisses my shoulder and in an instant is off of me and slipping on a pair of grey sweats while at the same time giving me a lopsided grin. His sweats do little to cover a massive erection and I tremble at the thought of all the things I could do to it; and it to me. “Why must you do this to me babe?” I whine as a drape the comforter back over my body. “Because I really want you to see the interior of the house…” Before I could even blink he disappears through a pair of French doors and reemerges with a short, silk black robe and holds it out for me to see. “Here,” he says. “Put this on. I will have to eh…replace the clothes that you had on earlier today. We had to leave in a bit of a hurry.” He chuckles while he hands me the robe and I clumsily slip it on. I don’t even bother acknowledge his amusement because it is too embarrassing to think about.

Taking my hand he leads the way down a corridor which then leads to one of those Gone with the Wind type of staircases. Everything about the house was modern; the décor was of course a black and white theme with accents of red and gold dispersed sporadically in various paintings, vases, and other odds and ends that bring out the character of the house. The house was small compared to the monoliths and overpriced mansions that the ridiculously wealthy loved to splurge their abundance of riches on. But nonetheless, I love it. I love every inch; every nook and cranny; every centimeter of the four bedroom two story house that now belonged to me. The kitchen is a professional chef’s dream, with a state of the art oven and stove, a fridge cold enough to freeze over Antarctica and wide enough to store food for several winters. My mother would lose her ever lovin’ goddess mind if she ever stepped foot in here. I myself am not much of a cook but my dear mother can throw down in the kitchen. I would love for her to see it. I think if she saw how much Nino loves me and what he is willing to do for me, she will love him as much as I do. But, I cannot think about that now.

All I can think about is how fabulously well -furnished each room is; how carefully decorated; and my favorite room in the house is the last bedroom which happened to be turned into a mini library. Nino is the only man I have ever dated who appreciates my love of books. Since the day that I met him he has kept me well stocked with my favorite authors while at the same time introducing me to new ones. And, now here I stand in a room filled with bookshelves, and queen sized bed with several hefty pillows stacked on top of it, and placed smack dab in the center of it all. And when Nino drew back the sun colored drapes and allowed the last few rays of the sun soak up the room, the visual itself was an offering of complete serenity. Instinctively I wrap myself into Nino’s already welcoming embrace and we stand that way for what should have been an eternity.

Once the sun is set and it is the stars’ turn to light the sky Nino asks,” Will you accept?” “Do you really have to ask?” I smile. “Hell yeah I accept! What woman would not?” “Then will you at least move in with me? I want you with me all the time and I hate dropping you off to be alone in-don’t take this personal- that tiny apartment of yours.” “Hey,” I gently poke him in his ribcage. “That is still my apartment you know…” Feigning annoyance I pull away from him and turn around with my back to him. “I don’t know…” “What? Why?” Nino stuttered. “It is just that I like my tiny apartment…and then there is my job. Nino, what you are asking is to give up the little that I worked hard for. What I have is mine. I don’t know what the future holds-“ “ I will give anything to have you with me when the sun rises and when the sun sets Rita,” Nino says as he wraps his arms around my waist from behind. “I have waited for a woman like you for hundreds of years and I refuse to live another second with her living alone without me. The house is in your name so you can do what you want with it at your will. I will never override your need for independence. But, if I am willing to give you and have given you everything a man could give to a woman he needs as much as his own breath, all I ask is one simple request: say yes.” For the first time in my 28 years of existence, instead of listening to the screaming voices in my head offering me valid reasons why I should say no; I go with the beating voice in my heart… I say: ”Yes Nino. Yes. Should I call my job and quit over the phone or give them a two week resignation notice?” He unties the black robe and watches it as it slides from my shoulders and onto the floor and stares at me greedily. I want to be devoured.  So, I take it that the answer to my question is a very loud no. I won’t need any make-up for tomorrow

.Artemis The Family Curse will be available December 25, 2014.

Leave a Reply

