I Miss You

There was something about your smile that made me choke on my own heartbeat.
Your presence alone was enough to breathe life into me
Awakened I was,
The sound of that timbre in your voice called my soul into being
I needed you like a desert wanderer needs that oasis
You were my reprieve
My moment of temporal escape
From the mundane realities of a cruel world
I wanted you
You were my fever
My addiction
My pain
My dream
You ignited a burn so intense
I became intoxicated by the swagger of your walk
You swept me away in that tide of all that makes you, you
It began with you and still it continues without you
My heart still beats for you
For you my heart still beats
It beats because it knows someday
You will come back to me

I miss you.

Leave a Reply

